Resolution 2015-02 Regarding Supporting the TIME Act

WHEREAS, Section 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA) is founded on the erroneous belief that people with disabilities lack the capacity for competitive, integrated employment and currently permits approximately 40 Maryland employers to obtain Special Wage Certificates resulting in workers with disabilities being paid wages that are less than minimum wage; and


WHEREAS, with the proper training, support, and expectations, workers with disabilities can be productive employees worthy of at least the minimum wage; and


WHEREAS, Congressman Gregg Harper has introduced the Transitioning to Integrated and Meaningful Employment Act (or TIME Act), HR 188 which, when enacted, will immediately stop the issuance of new Special Wage Certificates, responsibly phase out the use of the Special Wage Certificates over a three-year period, and finally repeal Section 14(c) of the FLSA; and


WHEREAS, Senator Kelly Ayotte has introduced a companion TIME Act in the Senate which is S. 2001; and


WHEREAS, as of November 15, 2015 there were 50 members of the US House of Representatives who have cosponsored HR 188, including Congresswoman Edwards and Congressman Van Hollen; and


WHEREAS, 1 senator has cosponsored S. 2001, but neither Senator Mikulski nor Senator Cardin has cosponsored the TIME Act: Now, therefore,


BE IT RESOLVED by the National Federation of the Blind of Maryland in Convention assembled this fifteenth day of November, 2015, in the city of Ocean City, Maryland, that this organization condemn and deplore the actions of all employers that take advantage of the unfair, discriminatory, and immoral provision found in Section 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA); and


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we call upon Congressman Harris, Congressman Ruppersberger, Congressman Sarbanes, Congressman Hoyer, Congressman Delaney, and Congressman Cummings to exercise the same courage as Congresswoman Edwards and Congressman Van Hollen by cosponsoring HR 188; and


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we call upon Senator Mikulski and Senator Cardin to cosponsor S. 2001 expeditiously.